Aust Mammal Society


International Federation of Mammalogists






Australia Tourism



The IFM and many of the member mammalogical societies support the attendance of students at IMC, to allow the opportunity for outstanding students to present their research to, and hear presentations from, a wide range of researchers, as well as to participate in relevant workshops. This opportunity will allow students to learn from the world’s leading mammologists, and provide a forum for networking and building collaborative relationships. Opportunities for awards and scholarships to assist students to attend IMC12 are listed below:

The list below is not complete and more awards will be listed as they become available.

IFM Student Travel Awards for IMC12 Perth Australia 14th – 17th July 2017

ASM Grant Information

The Company of Biologists Travel Grant

If you would like your award listed here please contact the Conference Secretariat via email


IFM Student Travel Awards

The Prestigious IFM Student Travel Awards for the 12th International Mammalogical Congress in Perth for outstanding postgraduate students from developing countries were judged by an international panel established by the IFM Board. Instructions for applicants were widely publicised and can be found at the link on this page.

The 10 Recipients (in alphabetical order) are as follows:

1. Jamile de Moura Bubadué.  Brazil.
2. Abhishek Ghoshal.  India.
3. Gabby Neves Guilhon.  Brazil.
4. Kiara Haylock.  South Africa.
5. Kgaogelo Amanda Maswanganye.  South Africa.
6. Ninon Meyer.  Mexico.
7. Samantha Mynhardt.  South Africa.
8. James Kehinde Omifolaji.  Nigeria.
9.  Andrea del Pilar Tarquino Carbonell.  Argentina.
10. Nora Marie Weyer.  South Africa.

A special mention is also due to the two candidates who were initially selected, but could not accept their awards:

1. Joyce Rodrigues do Prado.  Brazil.
2. Deon De Jager.  South Africa.

Finally the IFM extends its most sincere thanks to the chair and other members of the ad hoc evaluation committee for their time and effort to assist with the selection process. Their cooperation with the IFM will greatly contribute to the success of the IMC12 as they are all highly regarded in their respective fields of research in the global community of mammalogists.

1. Prof. Douglas Kelt, University of California Davis CA USA; President Elect, American Society of Mammalogists (Chairperson)

2. Prof. Klaus Hackländer University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Institute of Wildlife Biology and Game Management, Vienna, Austria; Deutsche Gesellschaft für Säugetierkunde

3. Prof. Hugo Mantilla-Meluk, Curator Mammal Collection, Program of Biology, Universidad del Quindío, Armenia, Colombia; Colombian Mammal Society (SOCMA).

4. Dr. Ulyses Pardinas, Instituto de Diversidad y Evolución Austal, IDEAus-CONICET, Puerto Madryn, Chubut, Argentina; Sociedad Argentina para el Estudio de los Mamíferos (RELAM).

5. Prof. Javier Palomo, Sociedad Española para la Conservación y Estudio de los Mamíferos  (SECEM)


Australian Natural History Medallion

The Australian Natural History Medallion, which is administered by The Field Naturalists Club of Victoria, is awarded each year to the person judged to have made the most meritorious contribution to the understanding of Australian Natural History.

Such a person may have:

  • assisted notably in the protection and understanding of Australian native flora and/or fauna;
  • discovered and and/or described new Australian species of plants or animals;
  • devoted considerable time and care to the study of any branch of Australian natural history, including palaeontology and geology, and
  • engaged in the dissemination of knowledge through the publication of articles or books or by photography or pictorial art or any other means accepted by the Award Committee.

Nominations for the Award must be submitted by natural history societies rather than by individuals. Members of the Australian Mammal Society are invited to forward nominations for this medallion to the AMS secretary by April 19th. These nominations will then be considered by Council.

Full details of the award can be obtained here: